Glossar

From A to Z you will find a lot of terms explained here.
M

Maji-Maji War

German colonisation led to the gradual disenfranchisement and dispossession of the population. The introduction of a "poll tax" forced large parts of the inhabitants into forced labour; in addition, the seizure of land for plantations destroyed the livelihood of the population. At the same time, the Maji-Maji movement emerged around the religious leader Kinjitikile Ngwale, in which resistance against German colonial rule gathered. The word Maji (Swahili for water) signified the importance of water for the movement, as it was ascribed spiritual significance.

In July 1905, the first attacks were launched against various representatives of the colonial system, especially in the south of the colony. The African population groups allied in the Maji-Maji movement were able to achieve some successes against the militarily superior colonial power, especially at the beginning. With the arrival of military reinforcements for the German military in November 1905, the major fighting came to an end by the beginning of 1906. The African allies, militarily outgunned in the field battle, now continued their resistance with guerrilla tactics. The German military responded with further extermination measures and applied a "scorched earth" strategy aimed at destroying the livelihood of the population. The fighting continued until 1908. According to today's estimates, the war resulted in the death of approximately 180,000 people.

  • Cultural goods and collections from colonial contexts

Ministry for Culture

The Ministierum für Kultur (Ministry for Culture, MfK) was founded in January 1954 through the centralization of various roles that had previously been assumed by individual commissions, such as the →Staatliche Kunstkommission (State Commission for Art Affairs, StaKuKo). The first Ministers of Culture were Johannes R. Becher, Alexander Abusch and Hans Bentzien.

The role of the MfK was to develop a socialist national culture by promoting the creation of artwork within the socialist realism movement and the creative activities of working people (amateur art, “Greif-zur-Feder-Kumpel” movement). It was also responsible for the long-term planning and →profiling of GDR museums. The MfK was in charge of the Fachstelle für Heimatmuseen (Department of Local History Museums) in the GDR, which was directed by Heinz Arno Knorr (based in Halle an der Saale until 1963 and then in Berlin), from which the Institut für Museumswesen (Institute of Museums) emerged in 1971. Another department within the MfK was the →Kunstschutzkommission (Commission for the Protection of Art). The MfK corresponded to the departments for art, for art and culture or for art and cultural mass work at district administration level. The MfK had its own legal office where legal advisors provided museums and collections with advice on restitution issues. The relevant archival records on the MfK can now be found in the Federal Archives in Berlin (BArch DR 1, particularly HA Rechtsstelle, HA Internationale Beziehungen, Bildende Kunst / Museen / Denkmalpflege, etc., BArch DR 136 Kommission des Ministeriums für Kultur zum Schutz des Kulturgutes, BArch DR 138 Büro für den Schutz des Kulturgutes der DDR beim Ministerium für Kultur). (MD)

  • Confiscation of cultural goods in the Soviet Occupation Zone and the GDR

Ministry for State Security

The Ministerium für Staatssicherheit (Ministry for State Security, MfS) was founded on 8 February 1950 and structured in line with the Soviet model. It acted as a state surveillance body and secret police force to ward off any anti-communist activity. As such, it tracked serious offenses classified as "crimes against the state"; however, it also took on an increasing number of investigations into suspected crimes against the political order (especially when Erich Mielkes became the Minister for State Security in 1957). The MfS collaborated with the →Volkspolizei (People’s Police); as an "authority with its own responsibility" (O. Nuschke), however, it was not subject to any control by the parliament-like Volkskammer (People's Chamber), whereas the police force was subordinate to the Ministry of the Interior (MdI).

  • Confiscation of cultural goods in the Soviet Occupation Zone and the GDR

Mission

This term was originally only associated with Christian missionaries who were called upon to spread the Christian faith. These missions were justified by a passage in the New Testament in which Jesus calls on his disciples to preach the gospel. Systematic missionary work is also practiced by the followers of other religions such as Islam and Buddhism. There have been systematic Christian missions since the 6th century. The missionary work of the Catholic and Protestant churches has expanded worldwide in connection with colonisation and colonialism. The expansion of Catholic missionary work was aided by its importance in establishing colonial power in the Spanish and Portuguese colonies in the Americas, Asia and Africa from the 15th century. The missionary work was often carried out by Catholic orders and was partly responsible for the violent destruction of religious traditions in the interest of enforcing the Christian religious monopoly demanded by the state. A Protestant missionary movement had also been developing since the 17th century; it gained momentum when predominantly Protestant countries such as the Netherlands became colonial powers. The first targeted missions emerged in the 18th century, including the Danish-Halle Mission and the Mission of the Moravian Church. In the 19th century in particular, a large number of missionary organizations were founded, contributing to the spread of missionary work around the world. As missionary work helped to establish Christian normative values and structures, it often contributed to the destruction of local social structures and was therefore an essential tool for the assertion of colonial rule. However, missionaries cannot generally be described as agents of colonialism, as some missionary organizations did distance themselves from the colonial powers and tried to combat the social effects of colonialism. Like many other actors in the German colonies, missionary organizations were involved in the collection of ethnological objects (e.g. by responding to inquiries from ethnological collections or collecting objects for their own museums). (JH)

  • Cultural goods and collections from colonial contexts

Moravian Church

This denomination of Christianity was founded around the pillars of Calvinism and Pietism during the Bohemian Reformation. The community is defined by its missionary work, which it has been carrying out around the world since 1732. When missionaries embarked to →"German East Africa" in 1891, the Moravian Church was involved in the colonial mission. The community now has around 825,000 members around the world. (JH)

  • Cultural goods and collections from colonial contexts

Mühlenbeck

The municipality of Mühlenbeck near Berlin was home to the guarded main depot ("white warehouse") of →Kunst und Antiquitäten GmbH (Art and Antiques Ltd., KuA), a subsidiary of the GDR’s →Kommerzielle Koordinierung (Commercial Coordination Division, KoKo) division specializing in the import and export of art and antiques. The depot housed some of its most valuable antiques, artwork and handicrafts that were intended for export – in contrast to over 100 smaller depots owned by →Antikhandel Pirna (Pirna Antiques), another subsidiary operating throughout the GDR that purchased antiques from around the country for the same purpose.

Between February and May 1990, numerous museums received financial contributions from the Ministry of Culture (MfK) to complete their collections by acquiring huge quantities of items from the liquidized assets of the KoKo division (see “BArch DR 122” for records). The previous owners of the items remain completely unknown to this day.

The Stiftung Schloss Friedenstein in Gotha (Foundation Friedenstein Castle) is one example of an institution that advocates an offensive approach to these holdings requiring clarification; in 2017, it became the first museum collection to publish its items acquired from the depot in Mühlenbeck to get one step closer to a declaration of prior ownership. (MD)

  • Confiscation of cultural goods in the Soviet Occupation Zone and the GDR

Museum Godeffroy

From 1861 to 1885, the →Godeffroy family business ran its own museum in Hamburg known as “Museum Godeffroy”. From the very beginning, Godeffroy had employed explorers on a full-time basis to collect natural history objects, ethnological items and anthropological pieces for the museum. The captains of the company’s own commercial fleet were also required to bring back collections from their trips. In 1863, the museum appointed a permanent curator in Johannes Schmeltz, who was later assisted by C.A. Pöhl. Together they would send the incoming objects to renowned scientists, universities and members of scientific associations to have them described and scientifically documented. The materials were then incorporated into the museum’s collection, most of which was offered for sale. For this purpose, the museum regularly published catalogs, a series of journals and other individual thematic albums, special editions and museum guides. The establishment was initially unaffected by the company’s bankruptcy in 1879, but it was dissolved in the years that followed. Numerous parts of the collection were sold to European museums, such as the Museum of Ethnography in Leipzig (Museum für Völkerkunde zu Leipzig), the Natural History Museum in Hamburg (Naturhistorisches Museum Hamburg), the Museum of Ethnography in Hamburg (Völkerkundemuseum Hamburg) and the Museum of Ethnography in Leiden (Museum voor Volkenkunde). The successor institutions still preserve these collections to this day. Some items were also acquired by private collectors. (SF)

  • Cultural goods and collections from colonial contexts

Glossar

Erklärungen zu Begriffen aus dem Bereich der Provenienzforschung und den vier Forschungskontexten von Proveana.

Eine Überblicksseite mit allen Termen steht zur Verfügung.

M

Maji-Maji

Die deutsche Kolonisierung führte zur schrittweisen Entrechtung und Enteignung der Bevölkerung. Die Einführung einer „Kopfsteuer“ zwang große Teile der Bewohner zur Zwangsarbeit, zusätzlich zerstörte die Landnahme von Plantagen die Lebensgrundlage der Bevölkerung. Zugleich entstand um den religiösen Anführer Kinjitikile Ngwale die Maji-Maji Bewegung, in welcher sich der Widerstand gegen die deutsche Kolonialherrschaft sammelte. Das Wort Maji (Suaheli für Wasser) bezeichnete dabei die Wichtigkeit des Wassers für die Bewegung, da diesem eine spirituelle Bedeutung zugeschrieben wurde.

Im Juli 1905 kam es zu ersten Angriffen gegen verschiedene Repräsentanten des Kolonialsystems vor allem im Süden der Kolonie. Die in der Maji-Maji Bewegung verbündeten afrikanischen Bevölkerungsgruppen konnten gerade zu Beginn einige Erfolge gegen die militärischüberlegene Kolonialmacht erzielen. Mit dem Eintreffen der militärischen Verstärkung für das deutsche Militär im November 1905 kamen die größeren Kampfhandlungen bis Anfang 1906 zu einem Ende. Die in der Feldschlacht militärisch unterlegenen afrikanischen Verbündeten setzten nun ihren Widerstand mit einer Guerillataktik fort. Das deutsche Militär reagierte mit weiteren Vernichtungsmaßnahmen und wendete eine Strategie der „verbrannten Erde“ an, welche die Vernichtung der Lebensgrundlage der Bevölkerung zum Ziel hatte. Die Kampfhandlungen dauerten noch bis 1908 an. Nach heutigen Schätzungen hatte der Krieg den Tod von ca. 180.000 Menschen zur Folge.

  • Kultur- und Sammlungsgut aus kolonialen Kontexten

Mark der deutschen Notenbank

Die Bezeichnung der DDR-Staatswährung lautete von 1948 bis 1964 „Deutsche Mark (der Deutschen Notenbank)“ DM (ost) bzw. DM (DDR), von 1964 bis 1968 „Mark der Deutschen Notenbank“ MDN, von 1968 (Gründung der Staatsbank der DDR) bis 1990 „Mark der DDR“ M. (MD)

  • Kulturgutentziehungen in SBZ und DDR

MDN

  • Kulturgutentziehungen in SBZ und DDR

MfK

  • Kulturgutentziehungen in SBZ und DDR

MfS

  • Kulturgutentziehungen in SBZ und DDR

Ministerium für Kultur

Gegründet im Januar 1954 unter Zusammenfassung von Funktionen, die bis dahin bei einzelnen Kommissionen gelegen hatten (u.a. bei der →Staatlichen Kommission für Kunstangelegenheiten). Die ersten Kulturminister waren Johannes R. Becher, Alexander Abusch und Hans Bentzien.

Aufgabe des Ministeriums für Kultur (MfK) war die Entwicklung einer sozialistischen Nationalkultur, indem u.a. die Entstehung von Kunstwerken des sozialistischen Realismus und die eigenschöpferische Tätigkeit der Werktätigen (Laienkunst, „Greif-zur-Feder-Kumpel“-Bewegung) gefördert wurde. Ihm oblag auch die Perspektivplanung und →Profilierung der DDR-Museen. Dem Ministerium für Kultur nachgeordnet war die von Heinz Arno Knorr geleitete Fachstelle für Heimatmuseen der DDR (Sitz bis 1963 Halle a.d. Saale, danach Berlin), aus der 1971 das Institut für Museumswesen hervorging. Auch die →Kunstschutzkommission war eine Abteilung des Ministeriums. Dem MfK entsprachen auf Bezirks- und Kreisverwaltungsebene die Abteilungen für Kunst, für Kunst und Kultur oder für Kunst und kulturelle Massenarbeit. Angegliedert an das Ministerium für Kultur war eine Rechtsstelle, deren Justitiare die Fragen der Museen und Sammlungen zu Rückgabefragen beantworteten. Archivalien des Ministeriums für Kultur finden sich heute im Bundesarchiv Berlin (BArch DR 1, insbesondere HA Rechtsstelle, HA Internationale Beziehungen, Bildende Kunst/Museen/Denkmalpflege u.a., BArch DR 136 Kommission des Ministeriums für Kultur zum Schutz des Kulturgutes, BArch DR 138 Büro für den Schutz des Kulturgutes der DDR beim Ministerium für Kultur). (MD)

  • Kulturgutentziehungen in SBZ und DDR

Ministerium für Staatssicherheit

Am 8. Februar 1950 gegründet und nach sowjetischem Vorbild aufgebaut, hatte das Ministerium für Staatssicherheit (MfS) die Funktion einer staatlichen Überwachungs- und Geheimpolizei zur Abwehr jeglicher antikommunistischer Tätigkeit. Als solche verfolgte sie schwerwiegende, als Staatsverbrechen eingestufte Delikte, übernahm aber (besonders mit dem Aufstieg Erich Mielkes zum Minister für Staatssicherheit 1957) verstärkt auch Ermittlungsverfahren beim Verdacht auf Straftaten gegen die staatliche Ordnung. Das Ministerium für Staatssicherheit arbeitete mit der →Volkspolizei arbeitsteilig, unterlag als „Behörde eigener Verantwortung“ (O. Nuschke) jedoch keiner Kontrolle durch die parlamentsähnliche Volkskammer, wohingegen die Polizei dem Ministerium des Innern unterstand. (MD)

  • Kulturgutentziehungen in SBZ und DDR

Mission

Der Begriff steht ursprünglich nur im Zusammenhang mit der christlichen Mission und bezeichnet den Aufruf zur Verbreitung des christlichen Glaubens. Die Mission erhält ihre Legitimation durch den biblischen Missionsauftrag, einer Passage des Neuen Testaments, in der Jesus die Jünger zur Verkündigung des Christentums aufruft. Eine systematische Mission wird u.a. auch vom Islam und Buddhismus betrieben. Eine systematische christliche Mission hat es seit dem 6. Jh. gegeben. Die Missionierung der katholischen und protestantischen Kirchen hat im Zusammenhang mit der Kolonisierung und dem Kolonialismus eine weltweite Ausbreitung erfahren. Ein wesentlicher Faktor für die Ausdehnung der katholischen Mission war ihre Bedeutung bei der Etablierung der Kolonialmacht in den spanischen und portugiesischen Kolonialreichen in den Amerikas, Asien und Afrika seit dem 15. Jahrhundert. Die oftmals von katholischen Orden durchgeführte Mission war teilweise an der gewaltsamen Zerstörung religiöser Traditionen beteiligt um ein staatlicherseits gefordertes christliches Religionsmonopol durchzusetzen. Eine protestantische Missionsbewegung entwickelte sich seit dem 17. Jahrhundert und gewann an Dynamik als Länder, die größtenteils protestantisch geprägt waren, wie z.B. die Niederlande, zu Kolonialmächten wurden. Im 18. Jahrhundert entstanden erste gezielte Missionsunternehmungen, wie die Dänisch-Hallesche Mission und die Mission der Herrnhuter Brüdergemeine. Gerade im 19. Jahrhundert lässt sich die Gründung einer Vielzahl von Missionsgesellschaften beobachten, die zu einer weltweiten Verbreitung der Mission beitrugen. Missionsbestrebungen trugen durch die Etablierung christlich normativer Werte und Strukturen häufig zur Zerstörung sozialer Strukturen vor Ort bei und waren somit auch ein wesentliches Element bei der Durchsetzung der Kolonialherrschaft. Allerdings lassen sich die Missionen nicht generell als Agenten des Kolonialismus bezeichnen. Einige Gesellschaften gingen sehr wohl auf Distanz zur Kolonialmacht und versuchten soziale Folgen des Kolonialismus zu bekämpfen. Missionsgesellschaften waren, wie andere Akteure in den deutschen Kolonien, am Sammeln ethnologischer Objekte beteiligt, indem sie etwa die Anfragen ethnologischer Sammlungen unterstützten, oder für eigene Museen sammelten. (JH)

  • Kultur- und Sammlungsgut aus kolonialen Kontexten

Mühlenbeck

In Mühlenbeck bei Berlin bestand das bewachte Hauptlager („das weiße Lager“) der →Kunst und Antiquitäten GmbH (einer Tochterfirma der →Kommerzielle Koordinierung) für wertvollere Antiquitäten, Kunst- und Kunsthandwerksgüter, die für den Export bestimmt waren – im Gegensatz zu den über 100 kleineren Lagern des republikweit agierenden →Antikhandels Pirna, der ebenfalls als Tochterunternehmen für denselben Zweck republikweit Antiquitäten aufkaufte, also Waren beschaffte.

Aus der Liquidationsmasse der KoKo konnten durch finanzielle Zuwendungen des →Ministerium für Kultur (Kulturfonds der DDR, Akten siehe BArch DR 122) zwischen Februar und Mai 1990 zahlreiche Museen zur Vervollständigung ihrer Sammlungen in teils beträchtlichem Umfang Objekte ankaufen, deren private Alt-Eigentümer heute völlig unbekannt sind.

Für einen offensiven Umgang mit diesen klärungsbedürftigen Beständen tritt beispielhaft die Stiftung Schloss Friedenstein (Gotha) ein: Als erste Museumssammlung begann sie 2017 damit, ihre im Lager Mühlenbeck angekauften Stücke zu veröffentlichen, um einer Vorbesitzerklärung näher zu kommen siehe. (MD)

  • Kulturgutentziehungen in SBZ und DDR

Museum Godeffroy

Von 1861 bis 1885 unterhielt das →Handelshaus Godeffroy mit dem „Museum Godeffroy“ in Hamburg ein eigenes Museum. Von Beginn an hatte Godeffroy Forschungsreisende fest angestellt, die für das Haus naturkundliche, ethnologische und anthropologische Objekte sammeln sollten. Auch die Kapitäne der eigenen Flotte waren angehalten, von ihren Fahrten entsprechende Sammlungen mitzubringen. Ab 1863 erhielt das Museum mit Johannes Schmeltz einen festen Kustos, dem später noch C.A. Pöhl als Assistent zur Seite gestellt wurde. Zusammen verschickten sie die angekommenen Objekte an anerkannte Wissenschaftler, Universitäten und Mitglieder von naturwissenschaftlichen Vereinen um sie beschreiben und wissenschaftlich dokumentieren zulassen. Anschließend wurden die Materialien in die Sammlung des Museums eingegliedert; der größere Teil wurde zum Verkauf angeboten. Dafür publizierte das Haus regelmäßig Kataloge, veröffentlichte eine Zeitschriftenreihe, und verlegte außerdem noch einzelne thematische Alben, Sonderausgaben, oder Führer durch das Museum. Zwar blieb das Haus 1879 zunächst vom Unternehmenskonkurs unberührt; dennoch wurde es in den nächsten Jahren aufgelöst. Verschiedene Teile der Sammlung wurden an mehrere europäische Museen verkauft, zum Beispiel an das Museum für Völkerkunde zu Leipzig, das Naturhistorische Museum Hamburg, das Völkerkundemuseum Hamburg oder das Ethnographische Museum in Leiden. Die Nachfolgeinstitutionen bewahren Teile dieser Sammlungen bis heute. Einige Stücke gingen auch an private Sammler. (SF)

  • Kultur- und Sammlungsgut aus kolonialen Kontexten